Nov 21 to Dec 18 2022

Qatar WC 2022

Qatar World Cup 2022

From November 21 to December 18 of the year 2022, a total of 32 countries will look for a new world champion at the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022™.

World Cup History

The history of the World Cup

In 1930, the first edition of the FIFA World Cup took place in Uruguay. From this year on, a new World Cup final round has taken place every four years, except for two editions. In 1942 and 1946, no World Cup was organized because of the Second World War.

World Cup football history: tournament setup

Over the years, quite a bit of work has been done to the World Cup structure. For example, only 13 countries participated in the first edition of the World Cup. The editions on this were 16, 15 and 13 countries, respectively. Subsequently, a total of 16 countries participated between 1954 and 1978. This number was later increased to 24 pieces. Since the 1998 edition, 32 countries have now experienced. A lot has also changed in the field of group stage and knockout. Nowadays, teams are divided into groups in the first round of the tournament, after which 16 teams remain. In the course, these teams have to fight through a knockout system who will be the ultimate winner. You first had to survive 2 groups in the past, but then you immediately ended up in the final.

Top 10 Strongest countries

From the FIFA World Ranking!
last update: 23 June ’22

  1. Brazil – 1837.56
  2. Belgium – 1821.92
  3. Argentina – 1770.65
  4. France – 1764.85
  5. England – 1737.46
  6. Spain – 1716.93
  7. Italy – 1713.86
  8. The Netherlands – 1679.41
  9. Portugal – 1678.65
  10. Denmark – 1665.47